Busted!

I have always been a fan of the ancient Greek culture; mythology, arts, history and all. Maybe it can be related from the fact that i was named after the famous philosopher. My dad gave me that name, hoping that I would grow up as a genius, lol. I’m actually not too crazy with my name thinking that it doesn’t fit my personality, but what else can  I do but respect my dad, it has been established since 1985.

Anyway, here is the first ever artwork in my blog presenting me as an ancient bust..LOL. I was inspired by some of the sculptures evident in most European countries showing historical and biblical accounts of famous people in the past, so I thought of doing one. This maybe too self-proclaiming but I don’t mean to piss any of you, just an expression of the arts and love for the Greeks.

I put in the steps on how I achieved this illustration; this is only a brief description of how I did it and this is not necessarily a tutorial. It’s way too detailed to put every bits of the steps, (at this point of being a new blogger, I’m still excited to put more entries, so making a tutorial would take me more time in just one entry). Anyway, I have done this thru Adobe Illustrator for the lining techniques then colored it on Adobe Photoshop.

I used “Wacom Bamboo Fun” Pen tablet for a more thorough and freehand coloring. (http://www.wacom.asia/bamboo-tablets/bamboo-fun)  This is not the latest and most advanced in the market nowadays, but good enough for doing some projects like this one.

Step 1. Lineart

Find a good photo of yours; it can be a front angle or your best profile. Create a “lineart” of your face, (here’s how: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z6AUtj8X4l0 , thanks to http://www.youtube.com/user/MattVectorOfficial, found thru random YouTube searching). I primarily worked on Illustrator in doing this since working with the “Pen Tool” is easier and with more precision. Keep it very basic and in an outline-type. I am fond of the “free-hand drawn simulation” sort of drawings, as if you used a regular pen, showing different pressure and thickness of the lines. When you are done save this as AI type to preserve the crisp edge of the lines when you open it on Photoshop for coloring. Put this on top of your layers and turn it to “Mutiply” in the “Blending Options”. The rest of your layers should be beneath that layer. It is best to capture the areas from your head down to the shoulder because busts are usually done that way.

Step2. Coloring and Shading

Import your AI files to Photoshop.

I picked the color of this bust using the “Eyedropper Tool”. I thought of using a vintage, worn out color so I found this shade perfect for my own bust. Then from the base color, I have created my palette for the darker and lighter tones.

I used the basic relationship of Highlights, Midtones, and Shadows in coloring. Highlights bring the shade forward, giving a full and sort of expanded surface. Midtone can be your base color or the actual color of the object your painting. Shadows on the other hand, give depth. Refer to the image below, the highlights on the eyes gave a sort of spherical shape. Notice how I used shadows on the parts of the cheekbone, jaw, ears and neck, giving the bust a defined shape for the prominent features.

The third photo to the right revealed the colors when I turned off the layer of the lineart. For a digital painting tutorial on shading, coloring and layering etc: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c3sECqHNNMo by http://www.youtube.com/user/infamousstuff (again thru random youtube searching, there is also a lot at www.deviantart.com,)

BTW, don’t forget to clean the edges of your drawing; it is inevitable that some colors may reach beyond your lineart. Just use eraser tool to omit the improper colors outside your lines.

Step3. Texture

I downloaded this concrete texture from www.shutterstock.com (you need to have an account though, but there’s tons in google image anyway). I want to use it to create a rough texture, so I put it on top of the all layers of shadings then set it on “Linear Burn” with 60% opacity/transparency. Make sure to “Desaturate” the image first so it won’t affect the colors beneath when doing the “Blending Options”. Again clean up the excess texture going beyond the lines, you can either manually erase the image, or trace the areas you want to clean with the “Pen Tool” first then delete afterwards.

Step 4. Background

Just create a new layer beneath all your layers then fill it with black. Using the brush tool, I simulated a light flare from the back of the bust, as if there was a light pointing to it.  A more distinct brush of light flare is also done at the edge of the cheeks, shoulder and head to create a glow as the light strikes on those areas.

Step 5. Finishing Touches

I put the entire artwork over this old paper texture as a border to add to the ancient feel of my artwork.

You can also place only the lineart over a another grungy rough paper texture to create another look. This actually remind of a Walt Disney poster from Tarzan or Hercules. It is your option to put your watermark or signature.

Thus, my logo for this blog was born:

Hope you like this entry.. more to come.

3 thoughts on “Busted!

  1. Pingback: Cartoon Me. « Narcissus Chronicles

Leave a Reply

